Entertain Me


So we’re about halfway through the summer, and I have not been to the movies as much as I usually like to.  And to be honest, it’s very rare when I consider checking out comedies on the big screen.  However, there are quite a few movies coming out in the next month or so that are looking like “must see”s.  So here’s a few of mine…

Dinner For Schmucks – July 30
I can’t get over how funny this movie looks.  The chance to see Kristen Schaal and Jemaine Clement in any comedic capacity is always a draw for me.  Director Jay Roach has already displayed his funny bone with the Meet the Parents series and Austin Powers movies…so I’m looking forward to seeing how this one plays out with access to ad lib masters such as Steve Carell, Paul Rudd and Zach Galifianakis.

Suck – August 2 (Limited Release)
It’s been awhile since I’ve seen Dave Foley, and this one has the makings for a pretty unique comedy.  I’ve read a review that has described it as a “rock ‘n roll vampire musical comedy road” movie.  This one was premiered at the 2009 TIFF and stars Foley, Jessica Paré and Malcolm McDowell.  I’m also looking forward to the roles played by Alice Cooper, Henry Rollins, Moby, Alex Lifeson and Iggy Pop.  I’ve always been a fan of movies that incorporate music – really good music – into their stories, and from what I’ve heard, this one does.  Fingers crossed!

The Other Guys – August 6
I know so many people who despise Will Ferrell.  I am not one of those people.  Yes…you will either enjoy his humour, or it just rubs you the wrong way, but when you love his work, you can appreciate pretty much anything he does.  Some of my favourite roles – Jacobi Mugatu, Federal Wildlife Marshal Willenholly (a nice homage to a role he would later choose), Buddy the Elf, Ricky Bobby, Brennan Huff, and of course his Dubbya – feature his uncanny ability to run play-by-play on his own situation.  This role looks like he’s going to continue with that style of humour, and I’m so good with that.  Throw in some Marky Mark, Sammy Jackson, The Rock, and even one of the Wayans family, and there’s some pretty funny one liner potential.  Plus, it’s Adam McKay…this dude just knows how to suss out Ferrell’s best work.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World – August 13
I must admit, I’m getting old.  I’m not familiar with the graphic novel on which this movie is based.  Then again, there’s a lot of graphic novels that I have not been familiar with.  However, the story concept is fresh, and I generally like the cast that has been assembled.  I’ve read that this is Canada’s version of the Twilight saga, but actually cool – a truly Canadian export that represents the laid back youth, hipster culture that is Toronto.  So that in itself always draws me in – I love Canadian movies and stories.  We have a certain way of telling a story that’s unique to a culture made up of so many others.  I know some people are fed up of Michael Cera’s acting style, but I still find it genuine and am hoping to see a bit of range with this role.  The cast is rounded out with Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Kieran Culkin (who I haven’t seen since Igby Goes Down and The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys), Brandon Routh and Chris Evans.

While these movies will surely keep me giggling throughout the rest of the summer, I’m always looking for more suggestions.  Anyone have any comedies they’re looking forward to?  Share your must sees so I can add them to mine.  I’ll probably put together another list of upcoming movies that aren’t comedies in the near future.  But for now, I might just need to go watch Step Brothers again…

Leave a Reply

