Tag You’re It


Luckily for me, there is actually a song entitled “Tag You’re It” by a Mr. Alice Cooper…you may have heard of him.  So my streak of naming my blogs after song titles didn’t end.  You have no idea how difficult it is to find a good song about kids’ games, or tag, or “you’re it!”.  It’s tough, man!  I almost considered naming it “Shag Tag (You’re It)” by Prozzak…but then I recalled that I still had a little bit of that…oh, what’s it called again?  Oh yeah…self-respect.

But I digress…I was tagged by the lovely gal over at Thoughts Appear on her post of the same list of questions.  And so, here I am, coming up with some answers to this awesomely random list.  Here goes…

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have?  Why?

This is a tough one.  The superpower I currently have is kind of useless, and actually annoying.  Really, the ability to attract the worst drivers in the world to drive immediately ahead of my car is probably the lamest superpower I could imagine having…but there you have it.  So what other powers would I like?  Flying, I mean, who doesn’t want to fly?  But then, what about the ability to become invisible?  I once accidentally eavesdropped on someone who was spouting something not-so-nice about me when they didn’t realize I was around…so I mean, I don’t think the whole being invisible thing would be something I’d like.  Ditto to super-hearing.

No, I think that the superpower I would most like is that of Harry Keogh, the necroscope.  He is – without any interference, be it physical or mental – able to communicate with the dead.  His ability to speak to the dead leads them to want to help him in his quest against the Vamphyri, or vampires.  Yeah, I definitely want that as a superpower.  How amazing to be able to learn music from greats like Mozart or Haydn…to discuss relativity with Einstein…yup.  That’s definitely the one.

2. Who is your style icon?

Style icon?  Hmm…I can’t say I really have one to be honest.  I’m either ahead of the curve, or painfully behind it – e.g. my love of brown clothing, corduroy in particular, kept me quite fashionable a number of years back when both the colour and material came screaming back into fashion.  I guess I’ve always admired the fashion sense of Chloe Sevigny, Rosario Dawson and Maggie Gyllenhaal.  I’m not glamourous…that’s for sure…

3. What is your favorite quote?

My favourite quote said by another?  “A common mistake people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.” ~ Douglas Adams

My favourite thing to say?  “That’s awesome”…but it must be said in a situation where it is most certainly not awesome.

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

Hmm…tough one.  I unfortunately don’t have a memory for such things.  But one thing that I do remember very clearly is when my brother told me “you look healthier” after I had started gaining weight.  It’s odd for a woman to feel appreciated after putting on weight, especially one who’s always been a big girl.

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now?

Well, I usually just have a very large selection of music on my iPod at any given time…so here’s a sampling…the previous five and next five songs:
False Flags – Massive Attack
Bacative – Tricky
Six Days – DJ Shadow ft. Mos Def
Eminence Front – The Who
Glam Bucket – Underworld
Mr. Roboto – Styx
Cannonball – The Breeders
Personal Jesus – Depeche Mode
Turn Off The Radio – Dead Prez
Don’t Look Back – Telepopmusik ft. Angela McCluskey

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Most definitely a night owl.  I can’t seem to go to bed early, no matter how early of a shift I happen to be working.  And getting out of bed in the morning is a chore.  I’ve always done my best writing at night too…as evidenced by oh, my entire university career.

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

I’m going to say cats.  I have three of them.  I love dogs too, but I love that I can pretty much leave my cats alone for however long, and they manage to not have completely destroyed the house by the time I return.  Well, except for Jemaine.  If we leave Jemaine alone, he eats the food of the other two…and then they go hungry.  Hmm…maybe dogs would be a good idea…

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name?

I have been a fan Massive Attack since high school (and sheesh that was a long time ago).  The Bristol duo (formerly trio) has collaborated with some of the most amazing vocalists around the world over their two-decades long career and are still on the frontlines of cutting edge music.  They single-handedly created a new sound (known to most as “trip hop”, though the term isn’t a very good one to describe them) with the release of the song Unfinished Sympathy.  So, it’s not only a take on their name, but also a moniker I used when I first met my husband over 12 years ago on ICQ.  Yes…that ICQ.

So I don’t know who I’m going to tag yet…but when I figure it out, I’ll let you know…

Edit:  I have no idea how it happened, but I found this article on someone else’s blog.  As in “someone took it and claimed it as their own”.  I have a feeling that it was because I tagged this with “iPod”.  I have since removed the iPod tag in an effort to see if it disappears from the blog – it seems as though this other place scours the net for certain tags and auto-posts other people’s work.  Nice…real nice.

12 thoughts on “Tag You’re It

  1. Although I’m disappointed that I didn’t get to tag you, I’m glad you were tagged so I could read this. I wish there had been a question like, “What idea do you wish you had thought of first?” I’ve been thinking how very clever your song-post-title idea is and how I wish I would have thought of it first. How great that there is one for this!
    Mr. Roboto has now replaced The Pina Colada Song in my head. I’m not sure how I feel about that.

    • I love trying to come up with relevant song titles. It’s much more difficult that you can imagine – even for one whose brain is fill of junk like movie and song titles, and not much other important-to-know stuff. Ahh…the Pina Colada Song…so appropriate for this time of year I think!

  2. And is Jemaine the cat named after Jemaine Clement from Flight of the Conchords? I was thinking of naming my next cat Murray. 🙂

    • Yes, he most definitely is. And Brit is half-named for Bret from the Flight. Being that she’s a girl, we didn’t want to name her Bret. But Jemaine pronounces his name as Brit anyway, so we thought it worked out. We also named her mother Mel…in a kind of weird creepy turn of events…didn’t realize she was going to give birth when we did it.

      • You know, the more I think about it, I have a worse super power, The ability to attact them BEHIND me. I’ve been rear ended 3 times, once while sitting at a stop light, another when sitting in a turn lane…so you can see, its not that I’m slamming on my brakes, I was all ready sitting there 2 of the 3 times!

        • Yeah, that’s even worse than being behing a crazy driver – at least you can see them ahead of you. Sometimes you can’t do anything about it, but at least you can avoid them. Maybe you need to get some rubber foam for your back bumper? Then you can drive around and play “I Like Big Butts” by Sir Mix A Lot constantly on your car stereo. No? Okay… 😉

Leave a Reply

