Anticipation


This is it.  Life as I know it could be changing as a result of tomorrow…

I have an interview for the Nunavut job.  I don’t think I’ve ever been more nervous in my life about anything…well…perhaps 3 AM the day of my wedding as Ian and I sat up in bed and went through our wedding after party playlist, and mused about how we hoped things would end up going that day.  With the most minor of hitches, everything turned out pretty well.

I can only hope tomorrow goes so well.  For me, this is the opportunity of a lifetime.  What an incredible experience to pick up our lives and transplant them to the Arctic.  Immerse ourselves in a different culture.  Experience summers with no humidity!

But most of all, to be a part of something bigger than myself.  Nunavut turned ten years old this year as a Canadian territory.  It’s still in its childhood…and I have a chance to be a part of that growth and development.  A chance to make a difference in the lives of thousands of people.  Perhaps I am being a little too idealistic…but maybe not.  Time will tell.

And it all hinges on surviving through to tomorrow.

13 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. So…perhaps you could blog on WHAT THE JOB IS?
    That would be nice to know.
    PS: Good luck. You will do amazing, and if you do get it…you MUST promise me that we will do our double movie night date before you leave to a NW Territory. Please.

    🙂

    Cyn

    • In time Cyn…I will let you know what it’s about…but it IS in GIS (geographical information systems), which I studied in school. We will DEFINITELY do our double movie night date…this year…whether I get the job or not!

    • Well, it went as well as it could. To be honest, now that I’ve interviewed, the job scares me a little. But at the same time, it’s a challenge, and I’m always up for a good one. I’m hoping that they’re willing to take a chance on me…the good vibes mean a lot. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know about them!

  2. I’m sorry I didn’t get a chance to comment earlier. It sounds like it went well, and it certainly does sound like an incredible adventure. I will continue sending good vibes and, of course, a “yay, you!”

    • Yeah, not too shabby I guess. I’m still crossing my fingers, though now I’m not sure if it’s because I want the job, or because I’m so scared and don’t want it. Ha ha! Well, no time for worrying now. The die’s been cast…the decision is in the hands of a higher power now…the HR department!

  3. Yay! The choice now is yours, really…if you could do anything in the whole world right now, would this job be ‘It’? If not…what would? It sounds like you’re at a voluntary crossroads, and you need to figure out where you want your path to go. Just because a move gets you up a ladder doesn’t make it the right move. Follow your heart, regardless of the HR department.

    • So true. Ian and I are kind of going to be doing some soul searching over the next few days to ensure this is something we want to do, and can actually handle doing. It’s a big decision to move thousands of kilometres aware from everything and everyone you know…

  4. Growing up I attended 17 schools in four states and as a result sank my roots pretty deep in Mableton Georgia until my son was in high school and the neighbor who lived behind me shot his .22 pistol outside my bedroom window three times at 2am. After that we couldn’t move away fast enough…

    So Good Luck and I hope that everything turns out well…

Leave a Reply

