I, Zombie


Halloween is definitely in the air.  The candy, decorations and costumes have been in the stores for several weeks now.  And to be honest, I’m starting to have weird dreams again.  I usually have Halloween-influenced dreams – likely due to the fact that there are many more examples of new horror movies out in the theatres, or for rent, or just on tv.  With so many sources to draw from, the imagery is bound to get me thinking in my non-waking hours.

Last night, I had the strangest dream.  And it happened twice.  I recall very little of it now…but a few things stuck with me as I started to go about my day.  There were two main sections of the dream, and the second section was literally the same dream, but from a different perspective.

Source: B. Cleary, sxc.hu

I remember arriving at what appeared to be an abandoned house and going inside to find four or five short-statured individuals…attacking a woman.  They could have been children, but felt more adult – just small.  And they were definitely zombies.  But I noticed that for whatever reason, they would not attack her if she was sleeping.  It was the most bizarre of situations.  At this point, I can’t recall much more than that, but really, zombies that won’t attack you if you’re sleeping?  Now that would be an interesting concept.  If all we had to do was fall asleep whenever a zombie was around…phew!  We’d never have to worry about a zombie apocalypse.  In any case, in the second portion of the dream, I was the girl being attacked.  And I wasn’t actually sleeping…just pretending to.

So what does it all mean?  I took a look at a site that I’ve visited in the past for information on dream interpretation.  It’s called Dream Moods.  They have a great search engine that brings up anything related to your search terms.  Sometimes dreams are subjective, so you might need to try more than one search term in order to find what you’re looking for.  There’s also some great information on other aspects of dreaming…such as lucid dreams, recurring dreams, nightmares, daydreams, and the sleep cycle itself.  Really cool stuff if you find that sort of thing interesting.

Apparently having a zombie in your dream indicates that you are feeling dead inside.  I suppose that’s an appropriate interpretation.  However, I’m not necessarily feeling that way.  However, being attacked by a zombie indicates that you may be feeling overwhelmed by forces beyond your control, and possibly under tremendous stress when awake.  Uh…yeah!  I think we might be on to something here.  With all the craziness in my life at the moment, there are so many things that are currently just outside the reach of my control.  So I am most definitely stressed out.

Since a portion of the dream was that I was attempting to rescue the woman, and then in the second part, being rescued, this was another theme I was interested in.  Rescuing, or being rescued in a dream represents an aspect in your life that is being neglected, or may indicate an unconscious cry for help.  It may be that I am seeking help, but am too afraid or too proud to ask for this help when I am awake.  Yeah, I can see that too.

Finally, I did see some interpretations of what it means when someone (yourself included) is sleeping in a dream, however not where the sleep is actually being faked.  I suppose my understanding of that part of the dream, and really, the dream in its entirety, will have to wait.

23 thoughts on “I, Zombie

  1. OMG, i also have the oddest dreams! I have vivid details of them unlike other people who don’t exactly remember how their dreams went. Haha i think our imagination’s crazy that way.

    • I can often remember details of dreams, so I feel fortunate. I know people who say that they don’t dream (which isn’t true…they just don’t remember them) and I feel sorry for them. There’s nothing like a fantastically imaginative dream to get your creative juices flowing.

  2. I have the strangest dreams as well, which I why I started posting about my dream encyclopedia. Crazy dream for sure. I have never had a dream about a zombie though. My oldest (15) can’t even watch zombie movies anymore. I wonder what a zombie phobia is called? I’ll have to check on that. 🙂

  3. That sounds like one of my Ambien dreams! the doc gave me that prescription and I took the pills and before long I was dreaming very vivid real to touch dreams . It freaked me out when I was awake because they were so intense!
    One of them was : I was a superhero that couldn’t fly but I could swim like a dolphin jumping out of the water and I was being chased by a giant grizzly bear! I nearly had a heart attack trying to get away! I hit the lake and started swimming like a dolphin wiggling through the water or bed and I landed in a pine tree on the other side! the bear made it to the bottom of the tree and I woke up! See what I mean!

  4. My recurring dream is that I didn’t go to class all semester and didn’t know about the final, so not only do I fail the test but I have to repeat high school.

    True story: My dad used to teach elementary school art, and one day, a kid, dead serious, raised his hand and asked, “Mr. Pack, you ever dream you’re swimming and you wake up and your bed’s wet?”

  5. i have no information that would help, but you might call that a meta-dream. i guess not really. and a meta-sleep isn’t exactly befitting either. i really like the term meta though. anyway, you must be psychic–you just interpreted the dream i just blogged about 4 days before i blogged it. i hope your stress lessens.

Leave a Reply

