Euphonious Fridays – Cosmic Love


Taking a cue from my blend over at Thypolar’s Life Uncensored, I have decided that Fridays shall from here on out be devoted to music.  I figure that if the both of us (among others) play along at this, the world will have its musical quotas filled weekly.  Good plan, J?  I plan on taking you all on a musical journey with me.  Follow along as I discover new music and reintroduce myself to the old.

I have only sadly been introduced to this first band recently, and though they haven’t been around for a terribly long time, I’m sure that my aversion to the radio has prevented me from discovering a wonderful artist much earlier than I could have.

Source: Stylebistro.com

Florence and the Machine is the name of a group of British musicians led by the ethereal Florence Welch.  I was first introduced to the name by a friend who mentioned she enjoyed the music.  Then I heard that they had contributed a song to the soundtrack of the latest Dragon Age game (of which I will be reviewing in a future post, I’m sure).  When I heard the song at the completion of the game, I was hooked and needed to hear more.  The same friend who introduced the idea of the band passed over their first album, Lungs, and that was pretty much it.  I fell in love with it!

Some of the musicians in the band have been making beautiful music together unofficially for many years, but released their first album in 2009.  Since then, F+TM have been steadily growing in popularity; their songs appearing in movie and game soundtracks; and being nominated for numerous awards worldwide.  Musically eclectic, Welch’s vocals are some of the most powerful I’ve heard in years – particularly since most vocalists tend to rely so much on editing and synths to modify their voices to unnatural sounds.  Welch’s vocals remind me at times of Janis Joplin, Fiona Apple with a little bit of Elizabeth Fraser thrown in for good measure.  Absolutely stunning…

“Cosmic Love” was released as a single in July 2010.  It strikes me as hugely ambitious and is easily one of my favourite tracks on the album.  Welch has said that many of her lyrics are about boys and love, and this one obviously follows suit.  Heartbreak and angst…my two favourite things to sing along with…enjoy!

A falling star fell from your heart
And landed in my eyes
I screamed aloud, as it tore through them
And now, it’s left me blind

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown up
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I’m always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart

And in the dark, I can hear your heartbeat
I tried to find the sound
But then it stopped and I was in the darkness
So darkness I became

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown up
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I’m always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart

I took the stars from my eyes and then I made a map
And knew that somehow I could find my way back
Then I heard your heart beating, you were in the darkness too
So I stayed in the darkness with you

The stars, the moon, they have all been blown up
You left me in the dark
No dawn, no day, I’m always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart

I’m not one for videos, but this one definitely reeks of pretty…

5 thoughts on “Euphonious Fridays – Cosmic Love

  1. I LOVE this band! I got Lungs a few months ago and instantly fell in love with the whole thing. The first song I heard was The Dog Days Are Over on the radio. I had just pulled into the parking lot at work, but I could not turn off the car until that song was finished. I know exactly what you mean about her voice. It’s so different and amazing.

  2. Thanks for introducing us to this band, Suzanne! I don’t listen to commercial radio either, just CBC, so I wasn’t familiar with Florence. I’m also not into videos, but this one was beautiful! I love her voice…

    Wendy

    • Isn’t it outstanding? It’s funny…I’ve just seen the commercial for “Water for Elephants” and it uses Cosmic Love in it. Soooo good!

      If you have a chance, check out “My Boy Builds Coffins” and “Hurricane Drunk”…oh and “Blinding”…beautiful songs…

  3. Pingback: Euphonious Fridays – Lippy Kids « Massively Attacked

Leave a Reply

