Euphonious Fridays – Spiritual Pollution


Source: Lastfm.com

It’s that time of the week again – another Euphonious Friday to spread some music.  But I’m completely brain dead at the moment, and I’d like to just be able to get the post written and done BEFORE midnight tonight.

So, I’ve decided to make this Euphonious Fridays – The Readers’ Digest Version.  Okay…here goes.

In high school, I liked this band called Pure.

Pure came out of Vancouver in the early 90s.

Their first full length album was called Pureafunalia.  Kitschy, right?

They released some singles called “Pure”, “Wow”, “Blast”, “Denial”, “Blissful Kiss”, “Anna is a Speed Freak” and the song I’m presenting in this post, “Spiritual Pollution”.

The tune is catchy…there’s keyboards that sound kind of like trumpets…and the percussion is reminiscent of the beat that underlies Gary Glitter’s “Rock and Roll”.

While I can’t confirm, I’m quite certain the song is about religious zealots and their force-feeding of their beliefs on street corners and doorsteps.

Fun!

The band is no longer together.

*pout*

But the former members are doing their own things now.

Yay!

The end.  Almost.

Enjoy!

You come walking up to me with a present for me
A special little book full of ideas to help me see my way clear
I look into your smile, make you feel important
Yeah I listen for awhile, but I don’t want to know
Anything about your mixed up tales that you’re shouting about

Sunday afternoon sidewalk revolution
I don’t need your
Spiritual pollution
You stand on the corner and preach down solutions
I don’t need your
Spiritual pollution

Tell me that I can be saved if I just walk along with you
And clear out my mind of all those ideas that you just can’t find

Now I’m spiritual
You filled my body full of all I need

A fearful soul
A God to know
And if I’m told
I’ll just keep screaming

Sunday afternoon sidewalk revolution
I don’t need your
Spiritual pollution
You stand on the corner and preach down solutions
I don’t need your
Spiritual pollution

Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find any videos for this.  There’s a big issue apparently between the band and their record label – the label has removed the video from the band’s MySpace page.  Sucks.

So here’s the MP3 for “Spiritual Pollution”.  Screw you Warner Music Group.  So yeah, if you want to hear this, you’ll have to download the song.

And just cuz I don’t want to not provide a video…here’s the video for Pure’s “Blast”.  Another great song!  Course Warner Music Group wants you to go to YouTube to watch it.  Wow.  This post is a fail.  Sorry guys!

5 thoughts on “Euphonious Fridays – Spiritual Pollution

  1. I like the lyrics of “Spiritual Pollution”…I’m the type to run the other way if anybody starts spouting off about religion…

    The video’s good too, although I think Jim might like it more than I did…he’s more into pop than I am…

    Thanks, Suzanne!

    Wendy

  2. I used to have this song on a mix-tape. I’ve been trying to find out who the band was, off and on, for years… Finally, paydirt! Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

