Euphonious Fridays – Last Goodbye


Source: Undertheradarmag.com

How do you narrow down a song to feature by one of your favourite artists?

You don’t!  You postpone the decision and choose another of your favourite songs.  And that in no way means that the artist I’m about to feature is not worthy of being mentioned.  On the contrary – this artist is arguably one of the most talented musicians of the 90s.  Jeff Buckley was a singer, songwriter and guitarist – and one that was taken from us far too early.  Moving to New York City in the early 90s, Buckley became a regular performer in the city’s East Village, covering artists from Led Zeppelin, Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, Siouxsie Sioux and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.  He also performed his own songs, and the combination attracted him a lot of attention.  In October of 1992, he signed a three-album deal with Columbia Records.

In 1994, Buckley recorded his first full length album, Grace.  It has been hailed as one of the top ten albums to be released in that year by several international music publications, and has received much critical and popular acclaim.  Musicians such as David Bowie, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, and Bob Dylan have all listed Grace or Buckley as favourites.  The album includes a beautiful cover of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah”, the title track, “Lover, You Should Have Come Over” and the song I’m featuring in this post, “Last Goodbye”.

“Last Goodbye” is one of Buckley’s most commercially successful songs.  Originally entitled “Unforgiven”, it tells the story of a relationship ended.  I can tell you from personal experience that it’s a good “crying out loud” song for those bad days we all have in our relationships.  Or just for singing at the top of your lungs in the car on the way home from work.  Just beautiful.

Jeff passed away on May 29, 1997 at the age of 30.  He entered the Mississippi River at Wolf River Harbor as one of his roadies remained on shore.  The man moved several pieces of equipment from the shore to prevent them from being damaged by the wake of a passing boat, and when he turned around Jeff had disappeared in the water.  On June 4, Jeff’s body was recovered from the river.  The music world lost a great contributor that day…

This is our last goodbye
I hate to feel the love between us die
But it’s over
Just hear this and then I’ll go
You gave me more to live for
More than you’ll ever know

This is our last embrace
Must I dream and always see your face
Why can’t we overcome this wall?
Baby, maybe it’s just because I didn’t know you at all

Kiss me, please kiss me
Kiss me out of desire, baby, not consolation
Oh, you know it makes me so angry
Cuz I know that in time
I’ll only make you cry
This is our last goodbye

Did you say, “No, this can’t happen to me”?
Did you rush to the phone to call?
Was there a voice unkind
In the back of your mind
Saying maybe
You didn’t know him at all
You didn’t know him at all
Oh, you didn’t know
Didn’t know

The bells out in the church tower chime
Burning clues into this heart of mine
Thinking so hard
On her soft eyes
And the memories offer signs
That it’s over
It’s over

This is quite a lovely video actually.  The imagery is abstract for the subject matter – flowers, sparkles, images of people kissing – all interwoven with the band playing.

5 thoughts on “Euphonious Fridays – Last Goodbye

  1. Have I mentioned that I like this Euphonious Fridays idea? I do.

    I was almost afraid to listen to this after reading the lyrics. The full moon imagery is also perfect and timely.

    I wouldn’t be able to pick a favorite artist, let alone a favorite album by that artist, and absolutely not a favorite song. Looking forward to your continued attempts to do so. In the process you’re sharing great stuff.

    • Thank you! I have a pretty wide range of musical interests, so I figure that eventually, someone will come across something they like. It’s a beautiful song though, isn’t it?

      And yes, I don’t really have a favourite artist either – I have several artists that I collect pretty much everything they release. Loooove me some music…

  2. Surfing the waves of the web I am pleasantly stranded in your interesting blog.

    I write under the pseudonym of Josè Pascal (a descendant of the great Colonel Aureliano Buendía).

    I invite you to visit my “italianglish” writing blog http://parolesemplici.wordpress.com/mytinbox/.

    I define this blog “In parole Semplici” as a “virtuacultural tin” box where they are guarded thoughts, memories, images, sounds, and simple stories”.

    I dream an intercultural blog. Already involves more than 100 authors/friends.

    If you want to participate and to have more informations send me a letter to inparolesempli@gmail.com

    Good life and I hope to soon

Leave a Reply

