Euphonious Fridays (Saturday Edition) – Childhood Song


Photo by Jakob Dall (Source: myspace.com/angumotzfeldt)

Yes…yet another Euphonious Friday has been pushed off to Saturday…ALMOST Sunday at this point.  It’s been a busy weekend and I’ve been enjoying far too much maple whiskey.  But I digress…

You might have noticed from my gushing about the artist I’ll be profiling from the Nunavut blog that I’ve kind of fallen in love with his music.  We were fortunate enough to get to see Nuuk, Greenland’s Angu Motzfeldt perform at the Alianait Arts Festival in Iqaluit this year, and there was no way that I was going to let him get away without picking up at least one of his CDs.

We got to see him perform live…and it was just him and his guitar up onstage.  His voice is reminiscent of Chris Martin from Coldplay, but I find him so much more engaging than that.  So many of his songs seem to be about his relationships with people or perhaps a specific person…I’m not certain.  But the lyrics are simple and honest and very pretty.

‘Childhood Song’ comes from Angu’s second full length CD Burning Blue Skies.  When he sang it live, he talked about it being something he remembered hearing when he was younger.  His voice just sings to me…which is appropriate I suppose.  But he seems like a very genuine artist, and that is something that really makes an artist more endearing.  Very humble…very happy to be sharing his music.  All around, he’s just a lovely musician and he is a very talented photographer as well.  If you like what you see/hear, I urge you to go check out his work.

Enjoy… 

I heard your voice the other day
I can’t get you out of my head
It’s the soundtrack to our souls
It’s the music to our story, untold

I couldn’t help smiling
And I’m singing out loud to hold on to you
My eyes couldn’t help watering as you hit my soul
But then you went away the next day
Childhood song where are you

Passing time in wonderland
We were just looking at each other, listening to each other
And whenever I fall you aways reach out your hand
You’re the only one who understands

It’s raining outside, but not on you
It’s cold outside, but not around you
It’s dark outside, but the light surrounds you
The sun has gone down, but it’s still shining on you

Unfortunately, a video does not exist for ‘Childhood Song’, but it is online to listen to.  Check it out…  You can also hear some of his other stuff there.
 
Here is the video for one of Angu’s other songs, ‘Red Lights’.
 
2 thoughts on “Euphonious Fridays (Saturday Edition) – Childhood Song

    • If you haven’t done so already, check out his page…he has several other song samples on it. Maybe that’ll help you figure out who else he reminds you of…and then you can tell me, because I feel the same way!

Leave a Reply

